School Advisory Council

Advisory Council Members

"Members of the Board of Education have a sincere commitment to the concept of citizen involvement in the Buncombe County Schools. We believe that the people want good schools, that they have reasonable ideas about the things the schools should do, and that they are willing to help the schools attain established goals. A purpose of the advisory structure is to provide informed advice to the school authorities." » Board of Education
A School Advisory Council is comprised of 
5 to 13 community members, with the principal serving in an ex-officio capacity and as the secretary who keeps the minutes. Minutes are submitted to the Superintendent's office and forwarded to Board of Education members. Advisory Councils serve schools in an advisory capacity and act as a liaison between the Board of Education and the citizenry. Councils might discuss and advise on such matters as human relations, school facilities, school activities, community/Board of Education relations, and/or other matters related to the individual schools.

Advisory Council Applications Available

If you would like to be considered for a position on our School Advisory Council, please contact the school office.  Applications are also available in English, Spanish and Russian on the Board of Education home page or at the link listed below:

Advisory Council Members
School Principal-- Charlotte Hipps
PTO President-- Amanda Cabe
Teacher Representative (elected as Teacher of the Year by teacher vote)--Stacy Frazier
Lay People Approved by the Board of Education
Ted Chellis
Brent Keeting
Julie Thomas
Jeremy Woods
Board Member
Meeting Dates for this School Year

September 20, 2016 8am at Johnston
October 18, 2016 6:30pm BCS Advisory at Nesbitt Discovery Academy
February 23, 2017 8:00am at Johnston
April 6, 2017 11:00am Erwin District Advisory Meeting at Eblen Intermediate